October 31, 2023

Southwest Power Pool welcomes Stuart Solomon, Irene Dimitry to board, reelects Elizabeth Moore to new term

LITTLE ROCK, ARK. — Southwest Power Pool (SPP), a regional power grid operator that ensures access to reliable and affordable electricity, elected Stuart Solomon and Irene Dimitry to its independent board of directors Oct. 31. Elizabeth Moore, current board member, was elected to serve another term. Solomon, Dimitry and Moore were elected to three-year terms by a vote of SPP’s membership, effective Jan. 1, 2024.

“Stuart Solomon and Irene Dimitry bring vast experience with stakeholder processes, renewable energy growth and strategic development that will benefit SPP as the organization continues to evolve,” said SPP President and CEO Barbara Sugg. “Their addition to the board, along with Elizabeth Moore’s reelection, ensures the SPP board can expertly guide the organization through the opportunities and challenges of keeping the lights on today and in the future.”

Solomon brings more than 30 years of experience in the electric utility industry, retiring from American Electric Power (AEP) in 2019 as senior vice president of generation services. Before this role, he held the position of president and chief operating officer of Public Service Company of Oklahoma from 2004-2018, where he engaged as a stakeholder representative on SPP’s Members Committee. He previously served AEP as vice president of public policy and regulatory services and as West Virginia president.  Solomon joined AEP in 1999 after AEP merged with Central and South West Corporation, where he held various managerial and administrative positions.

“I am deeply honored to be elected to the SPP board and eagerly look forward to working with my fellow board members, the SPP staff and SPP’s stakeholders,” Solomon said. “It’s a very important time of transition in the electric utility industry, and SPP is well positioned to lead the ongoing evolution of the industry. I’m excited to be part of such a dynamic and forward-thinking organization during this time.”

Solomon received a Juris Doctorate from the University of Colorado, a master’s degree from the University of Texas at Austin and an undergraduate degree from Southwestern University. He serves as a board member for the WeStreet Federal Credit Union and is on the Board of Visitors for Southwestern University.

Dimitry has more than 26 years of experience leading planning and development at an electric utility. She most recently served as an independent consultant and senior adviser focused on the energy industry and nonprofit organizations.

“I am very honored to join SPP's board during this exciting time in the energy industry,” Dimitry said. “The clean energy transition will bring many changes and innovations over the next few years. I look forward to working with management and stakeholders as SPP's regional role grows and evolves, while retaining its commitment to ensure that electricity is delivered reliably and affordably to the millions of people living in SPP's multistate service territory."

Dimitry retired in 2020 as the vice president of renewable energy at DTE Energy, where she led the launch and daily operations of the company’s renewable energy business. Before her role as vice president of renewables, Dimitry held leadership roles at DTE Energy in marketing, business planning, customer service, electric operations, energy efficiency, integrated resource planning and corporate strategy.

Dimitry received a master’s degree from the University of Michigan and an undergraduate degree from Wayne State University. She participates on the advisory board for the Utility Customer Research Council and is a steering committee member for Equity in a Clean Energy Economy.

Solomon and Dimitry will be filling board seats currently held by Joshua W. Martin, III and Larry Altenbaumer. Martin and Altenbaumer will retire from the SPP board at the end of December 2023.

Elizabeth Moore joined the SPP board of directors in October 2020. Before joining SPP, Moore served for more than 30 years throughout the legal and regulatory community. Moore’s new term ends December 2026.

Meghan Sever , 501-482-2393, msever@spp.org